Meet the 2010 National Security Science & Engineering Faculty Fellows

National Defense Education Program logoThe Department of Defense (DoD) has announced the selection of 11 distinguished university scientists and engineers for the 2010 class of its National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowship (NSSEFF). The NSSEFF program provides Fellows with a sizable chunk of change: up to $4,250,000 in long-term support to conduct unclassified research on topics of interest to DoD, including sensors, surveillance, information security, cyber and force protection, and power projection.

“These distinguished researchers have a demonstrated record of success in fields of strategic importance to the DoD.  Their NSSEFF work will not only contribute to preparing DoD and the nation for an uncertain future, but will also develop the necessary high quality science, technology, engineering and mathematics talent that will be essential to the department’s continued success,” said Zachary J. Lemnios, director, Defense Research and Engineering.

Below, I’ve listed the 2010 class along with information about their research areas and links to their laboratory website, if available.

Meigan Aronson, Ph.D., Stony Brook University
Research area: High temperature superconductors

Alper Atamturk, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Research area: Resilient networks (nonlinear optimization)

Andrew Ellington, Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Research area: Synthetic biology – develop biological software via genetically augmented proteins

Leslie Greengard, Ph.D., New York University
Research area: Computational electromagnetics

Lene Hau, Ph.D., Harvard University
Research area: Quantum information science

H. Jeff Kimble, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
Research area: Quantum information science

Stephen Leone, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Research area: Attosecond electron processes in solids

Todd Martinez, Ph.D., Stanford University
Research area: Theoretical & computational design of light- and force-driven molecular materials

Monica Olvera de la Cruz, Ph.D., Northwestern University
Research area: Emergence of shape & patterns in biomolecular assemblies in ionic solutions

Leonid Ryzhik, Ph.D., Stanford University
Research area: Waves in random media

Guillermo Sapiro, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Research area: Image acquisition, analysis and integration

NSSEFF was established by the Office of the Director, Defense Research and Engineering, as part of the National Defense Education Program, and it is currently managed by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research. Full details of application and submission information for the most recent National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowship Competition can be found at

Dr. John Ohab is a new technology strategist at the Defense Media Activity.